Gauteng and NW Province

Red flag for 14 municipalities

May 8 2012 at 03:08pm

Water Affairs has red-flagged 14 municipalities in seven provinces, warning residents of numerous small rural towns in these areas not to drink untreated tap water.

The 2012 Blue Drop Report, released by Water Affairs Minister Edna Molewa yesterday, said the warning remains in place until the management of the affected municipalities communicated otherwise.

“Residents and visitors are warned not to consume the tap water supplied in these towns without some treatment at home (boiling or the addition of bleach).”

The municipalities include:

– Ikwezi Local Municipality (Eastern Cape), including Jansen-ville, Klipplaat, Waterford and Wolwefontein;

– Kou-Kamma Local Municipality (Eastern Cape), including Clarkson, Coldstream, Joubertina, Kareedouw, Krakeel, Sanddrif, Storms- rivier and Woodlands;

– Letsemeng Local Municipality (Free State), including Koffiefontein, Petrusberg, Jacobsdal and Luckhoff;

– Ngwathe Local Municipality( Free State), including Vredefort, Koppies and Heilbron;

– Nketoane Local Municipality (Free State), including Reitz, Petrus Steyn, Lindley and Arlington;

– Phumelela Local Municipality (Free State), including Memel, Vrede and Warden.

– Thabazimbi Local Municipality (Limpopo), including Northam, Rooiberg and Schilpadnest;

– Bushbuckridge Local Municipality (Mpumalanga), including Zoeknog, Hoxani, Sand River, Edenburg A & B, Dingleydale, Sigagule, Cork, Marite and Thorndale;

– Chief Albert Luthuli Local Municipality (Mpumalanga), inclu-ding Mpuluzi, Lushushwane/ Bettygoed, Elukwatini, Metula, Fernie and Ekulindeni;

– Mkhondo Local Municipality (Mpumalanga), including Piet Retief, Amsterdam, Driefontein/ Dirkiesdorp and Mkhondo Rural Scheme;

– Msukaligwa Local Municipality (Mpumalanga), including South Works, Douglas, Davel, Breyton and Lothair;

– Nkomazi Local Municipality (Mpumalanga), including Driekoppies, Fig Tree, Hectorspruit, Komatipoort, Langeloop, Louieville, Madadeni, Magudu, Malelane, Marloth Park, Mbuzini and Nyathi;

– Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality (North West), including Tswaing/DeLarey, Tswaing/ Sannieshof, Dinokana/Lehurutse, Kraaipan, Madibogopan, Motswedi/ Gopane and Setlagole; and,

– Umsobomvu Local Municipality (Northern Cape), including Colesberg, Norvalspont and Nou-poort.

The report noted the department was concerned about water supplied to the Kannaland Local Municipality in the Western Cape. While not issuing a tap water drinking warning, drinking water quality “is not taking place according to regulatory expectations”.

In the Northern Cape, the report notes that the ability of the Renosterberg, Siyancuma and Mier local municipalities to supply safe water was “of concern”.

Get a Free Quote Now

get a quote to harvest your rainwater now

* indicates required field